The rebel heart and roads less traveled.

If you trust your rebel heart, ride it into battle
Don’t be afraid, take the road less traveled
Wear out your boots and kick up the gravel
Don’t be afraid, take the road less traveled on
Oh, ooh-whoa, oh, ooh-whoa
Take the road less traveled on…

This song is stuck in my head these days…I’d like to think that my life has been about the road less traveled, but honestly, it’s been a mixture.  In many ways I am hopelessly and happily “middle of the road” and conventional…and then I swing away into a place that is very much in tune with solely with my own internal drummer.

Take this blog. Sometimes I just want to delete the stupid thing, because my conventional self wonders – “Why in the world would anyone care about of any of these ramblings?” And then I am struck with inertia – I won’t write, I find a million things to do other than create and write and post, and I have to remind myself that this is not done for anyone except for myself, and although shared with a few close friends and family, it’s just about me and what I want to express.

Don’t follow anyone,
March to the rhythm of a different drum
Why do we analyze, break out, and criticize the crazy ones?

The road less traveled is a difficult one. Less traveled means you don’t necessarily have the guideposts you’re used to, and sometimes that makes you think you’ve lost your way…less traveled obviously means that you’re not doing what everyone else is doing, and sometimes that can make you question whether or not to continue. Right?

This blog is not perfect.  I’m not even sure what it is half the time…is it a journal? Is it a blog? A blog about… what?  I am not even sure what I am half the time…am I writer? Am I a legal assistant? I’m both, right? Am I writer if I don’t write?  Am I writer if I only write bad blog posts? Am I writer if I used to write and don’t any more???

Do I just give it all up and forget about it? Delete the blog(s), stick my nose in a book and call it a day? Stick with the conventional and the middle of the road?

But even after weeks, months of not writing anything, doubting if I should or not, wondering who the hell cares anyway…I come back.

Sometimes you do have to just trust your rebel heart and not care where it leads…and just live the words of the immortal Robert Frost…

 

frost

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.