Time for everything.

This morning, as the sun was just starting to break through the night, I was walking Max.  After everything he’s been through this summer, it did not escape me that having him trotting by my side, listening once again to that familiar click of his toenails on the sidewalk, was an amazing blessing.  I remembered how awful things were in June and July, when he was deep in the grip of immune-mediated hemolytic anemia, and we weren’t sure if he would live through it.  I didn’t know if we would walk like this again – relatively carefree, certainly full of joy and happiness, with a snap in Max’s step, and that sparkle in his eyes.

But here we were, doing just that, doing literally what was unimaginable during those darker days…and I recalled one of the few Bible passages that have stuck with me, as I am not much of a Bible reader, at all…

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

 A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

 A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

 A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

 A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

 A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

 A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

 A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

I know many of you have read it, or even have stitched somewhere, on a pillow or a throw, it’s that well-known. It’s always resonated with me, because it reminds me that no matter what burdens we are currently carrying, what sadness, darkness, or troubles we are working through, there will always be a time to rejoice again, to be happy again, and to heal. It’s very Pollyanna of me, I know, but that’s why I don’t see the point in letting a bad day, week, or month, get to me.  Even when we can’t imagine being happy again, we should always know that happiness is just around the corner

This morning’s sunrise with a few wise words added…

One thought on “Time for everything.

Leave a Reply

