A Ring of Endless Light.

One of the authors of my youth that had a great deal of influence on how I view the world, Madeleine L’Engle, wrote a book called A Ring of Endless Light.  To say I loved that book, read many times over as a teenager and college student, would be a gross understatement.

250px-Ringendlesslight

I was reminded of it the other day, and was trying to describe some of its prose and poetry to Steve.  I finally did some searches today and was able to find one of the poems in the book, “written” by the protagonist…just reading it again filled me with light.

A great ring of pure & endless light

Dazzles the darkness in my heart

And breaks apart the dusky clouds of night.

The end of all is hinted in the start.

When we are born we bear the seeds of blight;

Around us life & death are torn apart,

Yet a great ring of pure & endless light

Dazzles the darkness in my heart.

It lights the world to my delight.

Infinity is present in each part.

A loving smile contains all art.

The motes of starlight spark & dart.

A grain of sand holds power & might.

Infinity is present in each part,

And a great ring of pure & endless light

Dazzles the darkness in my heart.

Leave a Reply

