Life lesson #16,425

So, a couple of things to start off with…

  1. I got to that Life Lesson number by figuring out how many days I have been on the planet, figuring that even from day 1, I was learning things.
  2. While making that calculation, I came to the shocking realization that I am going to be 45 this year.  I sincerely had forgotten how old I am.  I thought I was 43.  I actually did the math three times because I thought that couldn’t be right.  I think I actually told someone recently that I was 43…

Okay, now that I have gotten that out of the way…lesson #16,425 is one that I am sure many people already have learned, figured out, blah blah.  I do believe I learned this lesson some time ago, but it crystallized itself rather clearly to me this morning in an actual coherent thought.

Life is not about waking every morning and hoping that the universe hands you a great day.  Every single day we will be presented with challenges – some small, some great – because that is just the way life is.  We live in an imperfect world, we are flawed, those around us are flawed.  It is up to us to make each day a great one – by meeting the day’s challenges with as much grace, humor, and integrity as we can, and finding good things to celebrate.  We only have to get through today!  Don’t bring yesterday’s trash with you – it’s gone.  Don’t focus totally on tomorrow – it’s not here yet!  Make the best of what TODAY is offering you, even if you wish it was offering you something different. If we insist on waiting for a good day to find us, we stand to be forever disappointed and dissatisfied.

Yesterday’s beautiful sunset put an exclamation point on that thought, after a somewhat challenging day…

Every moment is a fresh beginning. ~T.S. Eliot

2014-04-09 19.00.24 2014-04-09 19.01.17

 

 

One thought on “Life lesson #16,425

Leave a Reply

