New girl.

“Vitality shows in not only the ability to persist but the ability to start over.”

~F. Scott Fitzgerald

It’s been awhile since I’ve taken the time to write something, and much of it has to do with a significant change in my life – starting a new job, after nine years at my old one.  Talk about feeling like a fish out of water.  It was time for the change, and when opportunity knocked, I answered the door with an eager, “Hello!”  But that doesn’t change the fact that I spent nine years honing my skills and becoming indispensable in my last job, only to now be starting from scratch again, which is absolutely an uncomfortable feeling.  I’m “The New Girl” – the unknown, the unproven. Back at square one.  Learning curve.  All the new job cliches apply here, for sure.  It’s stressful and exhilarating at the same time.  I’m no spring chicken anymore, and if I was going to start over at a new firm, I needed to do it now.

So far, everyone has been kind, and I haven’t done anything more embarrassing than fail to grasp the concept of pulling close enough to the parking garage thinga-ma-jig so that my passcard can be read without me holding up morning traffic and having to get out of the car to get close enough to it to gain entrance.  Oh, and I walked into a supply closet (twice) by accident.

Keeping my fingers crossed that’s the worst of it, but I imagine there may be embarrassments and missteps still in the offing.

2 thoughts on “New girl.

Leave a Reply

