Mid-life…

“The mid-life crisis is just those times when you’re not so into the things you were when you were younger.” – Jay Kay


I don’t know who Jay Kay is, but he just summed up my feelings about mid-life crises better than most.


I know the mid-life crisis poster child is a balding old guy, in a yellow sports car, with a barely legal second or third wife, and truly, that man is in crisis, but the whole mid-life thing, to me, is just a release of the things that used to please me, and embracing the things that actually give me joy now, like family, writing, seeing my friends’ families grow and develop, and helping the causes that I believe in. Forward movement, not just being rooted in the habits and mores of a decade ago. Given that there are only so many hours in the day, I have had to take a hard look at my priorities, and so many things that I once held so dear, I realize now have very little place in my life.  But it’s not that those things are less enjoyable or that the things I choose to spend my time on now are so far superior, it’s just who I am now.

The people that don’t take that kind of inventory and try to force themselves to continue a lifestyle they’ve outgrown are the ones in crisis.  I am happy to find that it does not need to be that way.

Leave a Reply

