Epiphany.

As I was drifting off to sleep last night and mulling over the world’s ills, I had somewhat of an epiphany.

A phrase I heard earlier in the day replayed itself.  “It’s the least I can do.”  It’s a phrase we often  hear uttered in an off-hand, deprecating manner, in response to someone thanking someone for something they’ve done. 

But it occurred to me that maybe what is wrong with the world is that too many of us are running around doing the “least we can do” when we should be doing the “most we can do.”

Imagine that.  Imagine never having to meaningfully say to someone, “Well, it was the least I could do” when it comes to helping others, relationships with family and friends, and living life in general.

It kind of goes hand in hand with something my parents drilled into me from childhood – “If something is worth doing, it’s worth doing well.”

Unfortunately, in our fast-paced world, we are often trying to just get away with doing as little as we can to get by, and that just doesn’t cut the mustard, folks.  If we all gave the most we had to offer, I truly believe we really would make a difference in whatever it was we were setting our minds to. 

I personally want my epitaph to read:  “She did the most she could do” and not, “She did as little as she could get away with.”

I guess if I needed a New Year’s Resolution, that is going to be it, but I hope it will last much longer than 2012, and that whenever I am in a position to do “more” or “less,” I will be able to muster up the energy, motivation, and chutzpah to more…

 And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count.  It’s the life in your years.  ~Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply

